Saturday, December 01, 2012

(LUSAKATIMES) Sata meets 10 Nsenga chiefs from Eastern Province

Sata meets 10 Nsenga chiefs from Eastern Province
TIME PUBLISHED - Thursday, November 29, 2012, 8:18 am

President Michael Sata, yesterday met 10 Nsenga chiefs from Eastern Province. The chiefs who attended the closed – door meeting which lasted for over an hour included senior chief Luembe, senior chief Mburuma, chief Sandwe, chieftainess Nyanje, chief Nyamphande, chieftainess Mwape, chief Mumbi, chieftainess Mwanjabantu, chief Ndake, chief Nyalugwe and some members of the Nsenga Cultural Association.

During the meeting, the traditional leaders who spoke through chief Nyamphande praised the President for taking a bold step by revoking the recognition of Mr. Everson Mumba as senior chief Kalindawalo of the Nsenga people.

The chiefs stated that President Sata’s decisive and swift action on this long-standing dispute has freed the Nsenga people and brought dignity as well as harmony among the chiefs and traditional elders in Nsenga land.

They also expressed concern on the numerous border disputes between chiefdoms and requested that Government makes available boundary maps for chiefdoms to traditional leaders.

In response, President Sata said there was need for the Government and the people to respect chiefs and that traditional leaders should be included, and be at the centre of national development.

The Head of State directed the Minister of Education Dr. John Phiri to expedite the process of construction secondary schools in chiefdoms as per promise by the Patriotic Front (PF) Government.

He said the PF Government was determined to ensure that sufficient resources are allocated to rural areas to facilitate the development of schools, hospitals, chief’s palaces and roads among others.

President Sata advised deputy ministers and members of parliament to develop a habit of visiting chiefdoms whenever parliament goes on recess to assist in speeding up developmental projects.

The meeting was also attended by justice minister Hon. Wynter Kabimba, defence minister Hon. Geoffrey Mwamba, home affairs minister Hon. Edgar Lungu, agriculture minister Hon. Emmanuel Chenda, chiefs affairs minister Prof. Nkandu Luo, education minister Dr John Phiri, local government deputy minister Hon. Forrie Tembo, mines deputy minister Hon. Charles Zulu, agriculture deputy minister Hon. Nicholas Banda, chiefs affairs deputy minister Hon. Susan Kawandami, Eastern Province minister Hon. Malozo Sichone, Muchinga Province minister Hon. Charles Banda and Eastern Province permanent secretary Emmanuel Mwamba among others.

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home